Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Notes from My Captivity
Cover of Notes from My Captivity
Notes from My Captivity
"Like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger—and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure." —Goldy Moldavsky,...
"Like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger—and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure." —Goldy Moldavsky,...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • "Like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger—and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure." —Goldy Moldavsky, New York Times bestselling author of Kill the Boy Band

    Notes from My Captivity is a sharp, sensitive, and darkly funny novel perfect for fans of Libba Bray's Beauty Queens and Adam Silvera's More Happy Than Not.

    Adrienne Cahill cares about three things: getting into a great college; becoming a revered journalist like her idol, Sydney Declay; and making her late father proud of her.

    So when Adrienne is offered the chance to write an article that will get her into her dream school and debunk her foolish stepfather's belief that a legendary family of hermits is living in the Siberian wilderness, there's no question that she's going to fly across the world.

    But the Russian terrain is even less forgiving than Adrienne. And when disaster strikes, none of their extensive preparations seem to matter. Now Adrienne's being held captive by the family she was convinced didn't exist, and her best hope for escape is to act like she cares about them, even if it means wooing the youngest son.

About the Author-

  • As a baby, Kathy Parks was thrown out with the bathwater. This experience shaped her life and art. She is the author of novels including The Lifeboat Clique and Notes from My Captivity, and she also works as an advertising copywriter. She lives with her husband, Michael, in Boulder, Colorado.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    May 1, 2018

    Gr 10 Up-Adrienne Cahille has one goal in mind when she accompanies her step-father Dan, a single-minded academic, on a trip to Siberia. Dan is determined to find the Osimovs, a family who had disappeared into the wilderness 30 years before and have gained almost mythic status, and in doing so regain his reputation. Adrienne is seeking a story for her college admission and emulating a journalist she admires in the hope that she can prove Dan's faith is sadly misplaced. The story takes a sharp turn when the group runs into a tragic situation and Adrienne's only hope for escape means forming a relationship with a member of the very family she had always considered a fairy tale. This is a survival story that will take readers by surprise, given that it starts with a somewhat petulant protagonist who then loses almost everyone around her. Offering danger, romance, and a few ghosts, this is a trip that will capture readers' attention. Language and sexual situations make this suitable for older teens. VERDICT A fast-paced read for fans of survival fiction with well-developed characters. A strong purchase for most YA collections.-Betsy Fraser, Calgary Public Library, Alta.

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    Starred review from May 1, 2018
    In 1987, Muscovites Grigor and Nika Osinov vanished amid whispers of sorcery.Over the summer, 17-year-old aspiring journalist Adrienne Cahill is accompanying her stepfather, Dan, an anthropologist, to Siberia to search for the mysterious couple, rumored to now have several children. Unlike Dan, whose belief in the Osinovs borders on religious fervor, hardcore skeptic Adrienne is certain they're just a legend--and an article disproving their existence is sure to earn her a college scholarship. However, in the middle of the trip, devastating and shocking events turn Adrienne into a believer. After she's captured by the Osinovs, she promises herself she will make it back home, and she sets her escape plan in motion: Make the younger Osinov brother, Vanya, fall in love with her and take her back to civilization. Over time, the pair bond, and Adrienne inevitably falls in love with him. She also falls in love with the rest of the family: tough-as-nails matriarch, Nika; Vanya's sweet-tempered sister, Clara; and brooding elder brother, Marat. Can Adrienne convince them to let her go? Does Adrienne's rescue necessarily mean the Osinovs' discovery? Is there truth to the stories about their mystical powers? Elements of magical realism give the story a dreamlike quality, while Adrienne's wickedly sarcastic sense of humor keeps the story grounded in reality. Whiteness is assumed.Haunting. Mesmerizing. Completely unforgettable. (Fiction. 13-adult)

    COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    May 21, 2018
    When aspiring journalist Adrienne, 17, is given the opportunity to travel to Siberia with her recently disgraced stepfather, an anthropology professor, she hopes to both debunk a myth that her stepfather holds dearly and write an article that will get her into the college of her dreams. The two-week adventure goes horribly awry, however, after Adrienne, her stepfather, and their crew find the Osinovs, a Russian family who fell off the grid 30 years earlier. When the rest of her party is killed in a boating accident on a river and Adrienne is injured, she is taken in by the mysterious, wild family. Fearing for her life, Adrienne is forced to rethink all of her beliefs. Parks (The Lifeboat Clique) creates an inventive, multilayered tale about family, faith, mysticism, and survival, offering harrowing life-or-death adventure, as well as robust characters as memorable as they are unique. While Parks’s story leans heavily on the idea of an afterlife, she does not linger on the question of religion or God, allowing readers to draw their own conclusions. Ages 13–up.

  • Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Haunting. Mesmerizing. Completely unforgettable."
  • School Library Journal "Offering danger, romance, and a few ghosts, this is a trip that will capture readers' attention. A fast-paced read for fans of survival fiction with well-developed characters."
  • Publishers Weekly "An inventive, multilayered tale about family, faith, mysticism, and survival, offering harrowing life-or-death adventure, as well as robust characters as memorable as they are unique."
  • Booklist Online "Readers looking for a unique, edgy read will love the latest from the author of The Lifeboat Clique (2016)."
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books "Parks deftly peels back layer after layer of mystery... This intriguing tangle of menace, cultures, familial and romantic love, and the supernatural will draw teen fans across genres."
  • Goldy Moldavsky, New York Times bestselling author of Kill the Boy Band I loved this book. ...like Siberia itself, this story is wild, mysterious, full of danger—and then, quite unexpectedly, captivates you with its beauty. I was so glad I went on the adventure.
  • Jilly Gagnon, author of #famous "A wildly original story of love, loss, and of course a possibly-mythical possibly-cannibal family creeping around the Siberian wilderness. I couldn't put it down!"

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.
Kennett High School Digital Library footer graphic
powered by OverDrive

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Notes from My Captivity
Notes from My Captivity
Kathy Parks
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Notes from My Captivity
Notes from My Captivity
Kathy Parks
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close